Dear future husband, I hope you read this someday

Esther Oluwaseyi
3 min readApr 24, 2024

--

I am writing this to that man who will soon have my heart.

At this very moment, I don’t know if I have already met you or not. If ever we bump into each other and I happen to forget your name or even what you look like, my apologies. It’s probably because at the time our paths crossed, I was busy loving someone else who was not meant for me, or I was just content with my own space. I do not know.

And if, by any chance, we already knew each other, I hope that the two of us are doing fine. I hope we are in good terms while I am writing this. If I ever caused too much pain in your neck by being so stubborn and hard-headed, my sincerest apology. You know me better than most, I guess. I can’t be me if I am not that kind of lady—some people call it a “short girls” thing. Please have a long thread of patience. You have to understand that, oftentimes, I don’t even understand myself. Expect random messages from me, like asking if you are doing well. I mean, I just want to talk to you, that’s it; it’s my way of reaching out.

But if, up until now, we have not crossed each other’s path, it's all fine with me. If you are in love with someone else right now, I just wish she treated you right. I don’t want you to drown in sorrow and heartbreak. Urgency won't help us; so do not be in a hurry to meet me. I am still in the process of repairing and putting the pieces of my life's puzzle together, and probably you are one of its missing pieces, but please do not rush yourself. Take your time, and I'll take mine as well.

I do not know whether I have met you yet. Probably not. I also do not have a single clue as to when I will finally meet you. And I am sitting here, wondering what you are doing right now. You are probably saner than I am and are asleep because it is 3am and I’m writing this when I should be reading for my ICAN exams. Or maybe you are not. Maybe you are just finishing that book you bought yesterday. Or finishing up a poetry piece while listening to Dwin the Stoic or The Ignis Brothers.

Maybe you are watching a football match right now; please tell me you’re a Chelsea fan. Well, it doesn’t matter because where is the fun if we support the same team? Or maybe you are cleaning your room or drinking your coffee in a small restaurant with the book in your hand. Oh, I can almost smell the coffee and taste it with thoughts of you. I wonder what you look like.

The caption in the picture ♥️🥹

Forgive me if I seem clueless around you. You’ll be the first person I truly get to know, and I hope you’ll be the last. I want to hear your stories—the good and the bad. And I’ll probably smile stupidly just thinking about how lucky I am to have you.

We will watch every Rom-com together, cuddling; please promise not to ever laugh when I cry during those movies. Hold me close instead.

I could not pick one image so I decided to use all the 3. This is my favourite though 🥹

Just hold on. I will look for you. I will find you, and I will love you. I will take you away from everyone else.

One day, you will catch my eye. Or I will catch yours. With some random deep conversation, something soft in your sight, or with my broken smile. Who knows?

From,
A hopeless romantic.

--

--